Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-03-01 - 8:59 a.m.

The Oscars were a snoozefest this year. Lots of great nominations, but no surprises, no controversy, no crazy get-ups, no memorable speeches, no great jokes.

I'm happy that LOTR won, but that was expected, and by the time it won for best picture, we were in anti-climax land.

The prettiest dresses belonged to Jennifer Garner and Angelina Jolie.

Charlize Theron made good on her bimbo/egomaniac potential by neglecting to acknowledge Aileen Wournos (and barely mentioning the film itself) in her acceptance speech. I get the sense (and I may be wrong, I'm in judgemental mode now)) that to her, her performance wasn't about channeling a character or giving life to important ideas, it was all about ugly-ing up (oh, how brave!) so she could win a trophy.

In contrast, for instance, to Tim Robbins, who used his win (and his performance) to encourage the victims of sexual abuse to end the cycle of violence. That was cool.

I liked that Alison Krauss got some great exposure with her two beautiful performances.

Alas, I stopped watching for about 40 minutes (I was at a party and then went home in the middle), so I missed both the "Triplets of Belleville" song and "Kiss at the End of the Rainbow"--were they good?! How did they perform these?

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact