Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-05 - 10:54 a.m.

I first came across Iron & Wine on the single for the Postal Service's "Such Great Heights" and didn't give 'em ('im, really--it's just one feller) much thought.

Then a friend gave me the latest I&W to listen to, and I'm really liking it. It's lovely, thoughtful music: mostly acoustic, hushed, dark, melodic. Suits the moody damp days of spring. "Free Until They Cut Me Down" is spine-tingling.


I keep returning to this quote from Chogyam Trungpa, via everybody's favorite Buddhist nun, Pema Chodron:

"Hold the sadness and pain of samsara* in your heart and at the same time the power and vision of the Great Eastern Sun. Then the warrior can make a proper cup of tea."

*the surface trials and tribs and pleasures of life


Ha.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact