Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-05 - 9:34 p.m.

Many years ago it occurred to me that the most selfless thing I could do, the thing that would prove I had no ego, would be to listen to Husker Du�s cover of �8 Miles High� 10 times in a row. Because, the first time, it�s thrilling, the second time it�s familiar and thrilling, the 8th time it�s just a sort of a painful rubbing sensation against the brain that no one could stand if they didn�t really love Husker Du�nay, music itself�more than oneself.

But I did it, and it was nice, although ego's have a way of enduring even the harshest tests.

Tonight, I feel that listening to a random playlist of �Riding the Scree,� �Mamo, Snezhets Navalyalo,� and �Tiger Feet,� over and over again, will purify my soul, or perhaps make me understand once and for all that you can ride the surface of life down down down til it resembles somethin� like depth.

thoughts? (3 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact