Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-20 - 8:56 a.m.

Thanks to my friend Bob, fly-fishing has occupied my thoughts a lot these past couple of days. Maybe it's because I'm going through a "life transition" and trying to sort out what I really believe in and enjoy and what merely constitutes compulsion and going-through-the-motions. And fly-fishing, like golf, is one of those sports that makes people go all slack-jawed with revelation. (Especially if you fish using the catch and release method.) Fishing requires patience, quiet, centeredness. It's something you can talk about later but can really only enjoy alone.

I am feeling nostalgic for living in a town defined by its rivers and valleys and the quality of its trout.

This isn't leading anywhere, I'm just yakkin', toying with the idea of leaving Brooklyn for greener spaces.


I finished The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, and I have to say I really enjoyed it, even though I can clearly see how many people may find it a little precious.

I like how clear-eyed the narration is: this happened, then this happened, then this happened. It's not unlike David Lynch's movie The Straight Story in its simplicity and the way its gentle story arc leads to, not a crescendo, but a subtle ending whose power would have been lost in a busier narrative.

(For those who've read it, and this isn't a spoiler, the almost-not-taking-the-math test incident practically had me in tears).


Look, why doesn't Kerry simply ask Nader to be his running mate? Then if Nader really wants to be president someday, he'll be in a better position to run. Or, once in office as VP, he could have his thugs cut the brakeline on Pres. Kerry's Honda or something.

thoughts? (15 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact