Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-31 - 11:24 a.m.

I cannot overstate this: the new Stamey album is lurvely. Old school jangle rock probably won't be fashionable again til a 2010 nostalgia trip or coming-of-age movie with a dB's soundtrack, so go ahead and be on the forefront and pick up Travels in the South.


It seems that when people talk about musical "guilty pleasures," even then there's a socially-acceptable list of things that you're allowed to cop to liking...perhaps the current Britney hit or some novelty song...but what are the songs that you are genuinely embarrassed to love?

Whenever I hear this song, I fear it may be one of the most stirring songs ever written, and I jump around and sing along. Its message can be interpreted as sleazy hippie dude-on-the-make rhetoric, but if you look further, it is also a sensible plan to live completely in the moment and enjoy whatever life offers you without becoming mired in the past.

Similarly when I hear this 'un in a store or something, my heart goes pitter-pat, but if I ever tried to cover it, I'm sure the kids would think I was bein' ironical and stuff.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact