Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-06-16 - 9:33 a.m.

It's already Wednesday and I never got to comment on my interesting weekend, so I feel the only sporting thing to do is to briefly bullet-point the weekend's high points:

  • a Woody Guthrie tribute show at the Peekskill Coffee House, featuring the shimmeringly talented Fred Gillen

  • The hilarious Napoleon Dynamite, which combines the heart of Rushmore and the icky-squickiness of Welcome to the Dollhouse


    The show last night was fun--it is always good to hear Dave Foster's material (he did one of my favorites, "I'll Steer the Wheel of Your Heart") and this time he and his band also performed excellent originals by guest Alec Cumming.

    Sound guy Amos is the nicest soundguy ever.

    Our set was enjoyable (I mean, from my perspective)--took awhile for my vocals to warm up (10:30 is way past my bedtime these days, and all I wanted to do was nap), but I was happy with how the new song "Abraham" came out, and liked how all the guitars were locking in fairly well.

    Playing w/o a drummer has its own rewards and challenges, and we are still exploring the possibilities.


    Further proof that Bruce Ratner is either nuts or evil.

    thoughts? (0 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact