Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-07-10 - 3:43 p.m.

Sat in Union Square Park reading in the dazzling sunshine just now, and looked up to see a group of capoeirists playin'. Watching capoeira always moves me...I love the songs and percussion and weird, simian movements.

On the way home I wrote this song:

Me and the Monkeys

Monkeys abound
and apes are all around
Can you hear that sound?
It's the monkeys singing.

With their inside-out lips
and insoucient hips
their prehensile grip
as they're swinging.

Chimps and lemurs
Got me by the femurs
we're all just dreamers
Awaking with a start

Old world primates
in new-world climates
like pigs and their sty-mates*
thinking with our hearts

Capuchin, capuchin, capuchino-o!
Me and the monkeys!
On with the show!

*this line may have to be reworked. I don't want to introduce a whole new animal into the mix.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact