Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-08-12 - 9:25 a.m.

Part of my reason for visiting Chicago was to spend quality time with Mercy & Brighton.

I'm pleased to say that they are thriving in the Windy City. I attribute some of this to the fact that they now are enrolled in "day care," which means they get lots of exercise and socialization, instead of sitting around all day.

Their, uh, instructor, is a vaguely menacing, redneck-y sort named Nick. One hopes his flinty, forced smile just means he's shy and trying to be nice, and not that he's savoring thoughts of satanic dog-practices involving anal probes.

Whatever he's doing is working, though, because both dogs seem really relaxed and happy.


Whilst in Chicago I went to the Empty Bottle to see this fellow who was opening for this guy. However, the utter badness of the first guy drove us, first, out to the bar to play Playboy pinball, and then, weighing the merits of hanging out versus springing Mercy from her maximum security crate, out of the club altogether. So I never got to see Simon Finn, but hope to see him at El Bohemio/La Nortena in Brooklyn on the 28th.


Ok, one more Chicago thing, but I have to work now. Because I am not a lazy monkey.

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact