Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-08-27 - 1:33 p.m.

Just a quick round-up of media experiences of late:

I finally listened to that new David Kilgour album and it's quite enjoyable--all the low-gloss prettiness and trebliness you'd expect from this ex-Clean-man.

Coincidentally, the other new CD I have is a 1995 release from another Merge Records act, the Karl Hendricks Trio.

I can't even remember the last time I bought a CD, but I was browsing the used bin at Sounds and was completely taken in by the beautiful cover art (a Chris Ware-type drawing evoking 1930s-era sheet music) and the very intriguing song titles ("The Scoffer's Reply," "What You're Queen of Now," "Your Damned Impertinence," etc.)

The music--sloppy noise-rock with unembellished vocals--doesn't live up to the promise of all the above, but I'll bet they've grown in the last 9 years, and I'd be interested in exploring their later output.

Right now I am listening to 12 Girls Band, mainly because I keep seeing their ads on the subway and my cubicle-mate had the CD at his desk and said, "Here, listen to this."

Wow, I didn't realize instrumental music could be so unintentionally funny.

And, finally, I did get around to reading Running with Scissors, and loved it every bit as much as Dry. In fact, after reading two such moving and funny memoirs, it's been difficult getting back into fiction. If anyone has any good recommendations for autobiographies and personal essays, lemme know. I've already read David Sedaris, thanks.


It's Campero restaurant! Play their "Simon says" game and risk managerial disapproval.

thoughts? (15 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact