Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-22 - 9:20 a.m.

Listening to Elliott Smith's last album. I don't know if it's the significance of its release, or if it is actually better than Figure 8, an album I admired more than enjoyed, but so far I am riveted.

It opens with a real rocker, "Coast to Coast" (I'm relying on Sweet Adeline's song titles because my copy has no track listing so forgove me if I get these wrong), recalling Heat Miser's more assertive moments...heavy, dirty guitars make more of an appearance on this record as a whole, which is a welcome thing, matched with Elliott's supple drumming...

There are many vintage folk-Elliott moments, too. "Let's Get Lost" and "King's Crossing" feature the pretty melodies, sweet lonesome vocals, and simongarfunkely freewheelin' feel that we all know and love.

Best song title belongs to the big blowout power ballad final track, with its booming 60s bass line, "a distorted reality is now a necessity to be free"

Sigh.


The real IHOP makes its Harlem debut. Love those pancakes....

"...'Normally, we don't go IHOP's,' Joyce Flowers, a schoolteacher dressed in her Sunday finest, said with an indignant sniff. 'Usually, you see them, well, while traveling.'..."

(Thanks Sloop John Beaman for link)

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact