Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-10-02 - 3:08 p.m.

Cue the One Day at a Time theme song: today's movin' day!

Thanks to a bevy of burly boys, I am all moved in to the new place (though not entirely moved out of the old place--still have some furniture to unload and papers to go through with the hubs).

I like my new place and 'hood! Among its charms:

  • It's a classic New York apartment building, which I've never lived in before: huge lobby and a super and elevator, furtive glances and pleasant chit-chat by the mailboxes. I'd better brush up on my social skills.
  • 2 good supermarkets within 2 blocks (the supermarket by my house in Sunset Park was voted the dirtiest in a Daily News investigation last year).
  • more restaurants than you can shake a stick at
  • The subway is almost literally spittin' distance from my front door
  • a plethora of mysterious night clubs, "ladies admitted free"
  • a guitar/CD shop and health food shop, both a block away
  • all new kitchen stuff & fridge
  • totally dog-friendly building and neighborhoood.
  • jogger-friendly streets and I'm just a quick trot to the park that runs all along the bay.


    In more interesting news, I've finally gotten around to becoming infatuated with Wire. I've had Pink Flag on vinyl forever (and thus have not actually heard it in at least 10 years), but never felt moved to carry this any further...but this weekend I brought home Chairs Missing and 154 from work and have been listening almost incessently...and I finally understand my friend Miles' e-mail moniker (Outdoor Miner).

    thoughts? (3 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact