Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-10-30 - 4:02 p.m.

I vowed back in January, after watching the LOTR trilogy back to back to back, that I would be an elf princess for H'ween.
And here it is H'ween weekend, and I am caught completely short. I have about 4 hours to come up with a costume to wear to Fred's.


Had a weird girly moment yesterday. Killing time between work and fun, I was strolling up B'way and stopped, nay was pulled, into Sephora.

Generally that place makes me sad, because huge chain stores that attempt to sell sensuality and beauty only serve to remind me that frumpy women with fakey Clairol highlights in malls across America are fondling the same lip gloss and lingerie that I am, getting ready for their every-Tuesday "date-night" with their husband Gary, and nobody's special and we're all lonely and sick at heart and eventually we're all going to die.

However.

I was in a mellow sort of mood, kind of glad to be alive and relieved to be alone, and suddenly the endless rows of eye shadow and--especially!--the perfume was just irresistible. Fragrant, sparkly short hand for "I'm sentient! I'm a woman! It's Friday! It's Autumn in New York!"

"Did you buy anything" I hear you ask. No, no. That would have killed the moment.

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact