Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-11-27 - 8:57 p.m.

Firstly, happy birthday wishes to a really happenin' missy!


Watching a repeat of the National Dog Show with 3/4 of the Spunk Lads, we cheer like drunken hockey fans when the smooth fox terrier wins Best in Show. Cuz despite the fact that prizes are awarded on breed conformity, we know it's his unusual, piebald face that charmed the judges, even if subconsciously. It's his inscrutable charm, his muttliness that breaks up the stuffy purebred atmosphere, the possibility that there are some family secrets at work here...and all four of us can produce stories of secret family histories, recently unearthed genealogies, and we can all relate to this oblivious pup who seems to be valued for one thing while secretly being valued for another, and who, on winning, tries to eat the trophy.

I doubt that any of that makes sense but I'm slightly tipsy on wine I bought solely because of this movie


Really enjoying Joy Williams's new one.


An addendum to my happy songs revelation and ensuing online debate. The song that inspired that thread, the one I wrote cuz I was feeling sad and wanted to cheer myself up? I've begun playing it for people (it always takes a little while before I can go public with a new one) and everyone has commented, "Wow, that's a sad song."

So, there ya go. The unreliable narrator strikes again.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact