Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-12-26 - 10:29 p.m.

Christmas was really mellow this year. I opted out of the big family scene and instead had a nice lunch at an Indian place in Cobble Hill with Benjoya, then saw The Life Aquatic....

Aquatic was magical. Gorgeous underwater scenes featuring fantasy sea creatures, and lots of reds and blues and yellows...the usual Wes Anderson fathers-and-sons drama...and great performances from everyone.

That said, I can tell you that if you're the sort of Wes Anderson fan who only approves of Rushmore--who finds his other films precious or too self-referential--you will find much here insufferable. If, like me, you think W.A. can do no wrong, then you will have a great time.


Other movies seen this weekend:

  • Intolerable Cruelty. Thanks to Sharples for the recommendation--I'd skipped over this Coen Brothers movie initially because I'm not a fan of either Clooney or Zeta-Jones. However, it's a clever ol' fashioned screwball comedy with a lot of really fun moments. Billy Bob Thornton is hilarious as a Texas oil man with a heart o' gold.
  • School of Rock, for the third time. The scene where Jack Black tells Tomiko not to worry about being fat makes me weepy every time, as do the closing credits, which also make me want to have kids...just so I can force them to be in a rock band.
  • An American in Paris, which ranks as one of the stupidest movies i've ever seen. Sorry, but this film blows. The only positive thing I can say is that Gene Kelly has a nice ass. Had, I should say, I think his ass is moulderin' in a grave.

    Merry Boxing Day.

    thoughts? (8 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact