Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-12-31 - 12:46 a.m.

Catholics! They're creepy and they're kooky, mysterious and spooky*, but they have produced the best prayer for the dead of any religion. It was soothing after 9/11, as it is now.

Requiem aeternam dona eis, Domine;�
et lux perpetuam luceat eis
....

Rest eternal grant them, O Lord;�
and let light perpetual shine upon them...

*...and I was one for many years.


Inspired by Erica's whoopie pie revelation, I have gone and made some. They are for a party I'm attending tomorrow, so I haven't tried them yet, but they look really cool.

My stove isn't working so I baked at the Mattina Family residence, where the party never stops. In addition to invading their kitchen at 10 PM, I made them show me all the holiday newsletters they received from friends/fam ths year.


A good friend gifted me with Off The Charts - The Song-Poem Story - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, with great liner notes by Penn Jillette.

Yes, we're laughing at this music, but, like William Shatner's last album, there is something independently compelling about it beyond the kitsch factor. Must see this film!

"Jimmy Carter says yes! Jimmy Carter says yes!..."

thoughts? (5 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact