Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-05-25 - 10:46 a.m.

Oops, I forgot how to write!

And so many things to say.

Baby Party's wedding weekend extravaganza in Maryland was blissful, perhaps the best wedding I have ever attended. Not a saccharine moment to be had, and great music from start to finish. There's really too much to say in this limited forum, but I think I can sum up the tone of the wedding by posting one of the poems read at the ceremony:

Habitation

by Margaret Atwood

Marriage is not
a house or even a tent
it is before that, and colder:

The edge of the forest, the edge
of the desert
the unpainted stairs
at the back where we squat
outside, eating popcorn

where painfully and with wonder
at having survived even this far

we are learning to make fire


(this space left blank so you can cry)


Since I last wrote I have also been knocked out by several books, movies, and albums.

All I have time to say right now is that Brian Eno's new pop album, Another Day On Earth is making me pretty happy...For you youngsters who've only heard his ambient stuff, imagine Peter Gabriel's sense of melody tempered by David Byrne's understated vocal style and sense of adventure, and then erase whatever negative connotations you may have of synthesizers in rock music.

Also, The Hold Steady's latest album is very good, and an example of the arbitrary finger of hype favoring a band that is actually talented.

In the same vein, kudos to this deservedly popular book, whose accessibility and fascinating subject matter caused me to read the whole dang thing in one sitting last night. It takes me a week to finish People magazine, so that's pretty good.


Chewbroccoli!

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact