Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-05-28 - 12:03 p.m.

Went to see the Diane Arbus retrospective at the Met yesterday. It's an astonishingly intimate and comprehensive exhibit.

Seeing actual prints of her portraits--the images I've (and maybe you've) got forever burned into the neurons somewhere near the "Christmas carols" and "names of family members" files--would have been enough, but they also display a bunch of unpublished work, her notebooks, letters, contact sheets, personal effects, cameras...

The show closes this weekend, so if you're in town, get on the stick!


I had a semi-cosmic T. Rex experience yesterday.

A few days earlier I'd thought to myself, "If there were one CD reissue I would be willing to spend my hard-earned dough on, it'd have to be Slider."

(Note: I don't always think in complete sentences, or in HTML links, it was probably more like "Slider! Buy! Oooga!")

I went so far as to stop into a mega-store to purchase it, but they were all out, and I said, "Alright, if I'm meant to have this it'll come to me somehow."

So, yesterday my cubester nonchalantly said, "Hey, I burned a copy of Electric Warrior yesterday and accidentally wound up with two--you want this?"

Clearly, the universe wants me to listen to T. Rex in some form or another, and perhaps it just chose the album with the hits.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact