Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-07-04 - 11:24 a.m.

Happy birthday, America.

I still love you, despite everything.

I celebrated your independence yesterday by taking a bus over my beloved Verrazano Bridge into Staten Island, where I attended a party in someone's backyard, where Liza/Wheels and Box of Crayons performed, and delicious BBQ was proffered.

On the way home, over the bridge, I saw fireworks over the water and swooned.

Waiting for the bus, I overheard this conversation between mother and teenage daughter. The daughter seemed to be trying to bring the mother back home from the bus stop, back to a party that the mother had stormed out of.

What I say is true,
You have problem with everyone.
I say the truth
You have problem with everyone.
You have problem with everyone.
What I say is true,
you have problem with everyone....everyone.
I say true
I say true
You have problem, everyone.
You have problem with ever-y-bod-y!
I say true!
You have problem with everyone.

(ad infinitum)

Eventually they left and I was joined by a man with a Spiderman button-down shirt and Teletubbies backpack.

I suspect the mother would have had a problem with that guy, too.

thoughts? (3 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact