Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-08-19 - 10:15 a.m.

Good lord, what kind of world is it where I'm enjoying the new Staind album but the new Richard Thompson is just OK? Probably says more about my mood than about the actual quality of each album.


Have you noticed that there are situations that require the word "ouch!" and then there are situations where "ow!" is more appropriate?

When I injure myself in a small but acute way (paper cut, thumb-tack stab) I say "ouch!" and when the injury is bigger but blunter (running into a file cabinet) I say "ow!" There's something about that final "ch" that indicates intensity and closure at the same time. Whereas the more open-ended "ow" leaves room for those waves of pain that radiate from the mishap.

Staind!

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact