Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-01-15 - 10:18 a.m.

I finally saw Brokeback Mountain.

I was already anticipating its lush beauty, Heath Ledger's nuanced performance, and the heart-rending sadness of the story. But what no one tells you about is...the sheep.

The sheep!

They are so cute it is almost painful to watch.


I spent much of the past few days finishing up season 4 of 24 on DVD.

(No spoilers here)

Questionable politics aside, this season slayed me.

Not only was the action cracklin', but there was some rudimentary character development, too.

Even though the show is essentially a running love story between Jack Bauer and David Palmer (or the Love of Man for His Country), the office drones are the true unsung heroes of the show. I love that the technological know-how, the tactical smarts, the tap-tap-tapping of the computer keyboards, are what save the day, in the end.

And, man, the smoldering se-x-x-x-ual tension of this season! Shirtless Tony and the miniskirted terror-mercenary? The undercurrent of Brokeback Mountainism 'twixt Jack and Tony? Michelle & Buchanan? Tony & Michelle? Chloe & Jack? Dina & Jack? Just Jack?

You're waiting for me to say Edgar, aren't you?

I also propose a drinking game that requires participants to chug their beverage every time Jack Bauer shouts, "Now!!"

Anyway, though the show is not without cheesiness (I'll never really think Keifer Sutherland is a good actor), it has raised the standards of episodic television forever.

"Wish I could quit you, 24."

thoughts? (17 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact