Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-04-13 - 1:47 p.m.

My book got a little publicity in Travel Girl magazine ("savvy, sexy, and sophisticated"). There's a quote from me (p. 25 if you run across it in a very-well-stocked magazine store) about why it's a good idea to keep doing yoga even when you're away from home.

I now leave you to ponder what a "sexy" traveler is like--I imagine it involves air travel and not riding on buses.


And from the land of twee:

Vashti Bunyan's 1970 album Just another Diamond Day has been re-released much to the delight of those who loved last year's comeback album.

I have to admit, though, that for all my respect for her craft and elfin magic, the album is a little difficult to listen to. It's just....way, head-throbbingly folky.

But this is clearly my problem, and I'm sure some of you would enjoy it.

Slightly easier to digest--though no less ultra-prettified--is Rose Melberg's latest. Fans of the Softies and Tiger Trap will find much to enjoy on this almost completely solo recording.

And not pretty at all but soulful, eerie, and dense is Ghostface Killa's Fishscale. I don't know from rap, but I know when I'm in the presence of a complex and creative talent.

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact