Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-04-17 - 2:52 p.m.

Now that I've seen V for Vendetta in IMAX, I'm not sure how I'll be able to go back to watching things on a regular-sized screen. I want to see every pore, every nose hair.

Anyway, the film was enjoyable and uplifting, a tad less dreary than the graphic novel, and with a different message.

If anyone who's seen/read both sources wants to pipe up here, I'd love to hear what you have to say, but it seems to me that the novel espouses an adolescent anarchy utopia, whereas the film endorses basic grass-roots democracy, an ideal I'm more willing to get behind.

The visual are great--the hero, V, looks fabulous, and hopefully will inspire Halloween costumes for seasons to come.

Natalie Portman is wonderful as Evey--and she handles the accent with aplomb.

And Stephen Rea's perpetually hang-dog scowl is just perfect.


OK, saw the last episode of 6FU. (2fs, you can stop reading here)

(Ha ha ha, let's really just talk about 2fs--that guy! What a...)

The ending was kinda cool, and I was forewarned that it'd be a weep-fest, but the scene that actually made me cry was the one where Ruth tells Claire to go ahead and move to New York. It's just a lovely, mother-daughter moment the likes of which you rarely see on this show, or any, really.


Don't forget to come to Mo's tomorry (Tuesday) at 8:30, to see PC & Lo-Vision Library, along with The Infinite Orchestra.

thoughts? (5 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact