Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-09-21 - 1:07 p.m.

It's jacket weather here in NYC! And speaking of jackets, yesterday I wrote about Gr�goire Bouillier's book, and today while a-googlin' him, I ran across this fun questionaire composed by him and his girlfriend Sophie Calle for Jacket Magazine.

Please use the comments section to answer any of these for yourselves.

When did you last die?

1947

What gets you out of bed in the morning?

My faultless internal alarm clock, exacerbated by foghorns in the bay and the need to pee-pee.

What became of your childhood dreams?

When I was 9 I wanted to be a �rock critic� like Steve Simels. I typed long record reviews on my manual typewriter, and published them in the prestigious Paula�s World Gazette newspaper, circulation: mom. Eventually I started a fanzine. And now, all these years later, I write record reviews full-time and get a paycheck & benefits for it. So at least a few of my childhood dreams are panning out. Luckily, marrying Robert Blake did not pan out.

What is missing from your life?

I don�t travel enough, I don�t do enough volunteer work, and I do not live with any animals.

Do you think that everyone can be an artist?

Of course. It is the portal to the divine, and everyone needs to go there.

Where do you come from?

�A good place,� most of the time.

Do you find your lot an enviable one?

I don�t believe in envy.

What have you given up?

Envy.

What do you do with your money?

Resist it.

What would you like to receive for your birthday?

Something massage-related.

Cite three living artists whom you detest.

Eh, what�s the point?

What do you stick up for?

Civility and restraint; miraculous manifestations and healings; taking responsibility for one�s emotional state; most pop culture; the mystical branches of most religions, and organized religion itself before it gets dogmatic; the use of alcohol as a social lubricant as long as it does not become an addiction; ditto �emotional eating.�

What are you capable of refusing?

Most TV, cult leaders, most drugs, gossip (but not always)

What is the most fragile part of your body?

Knees

What has love made you capable of doing?

Walking through bad neighborhoods; being honest; overcoming fear of being either smothered or abandoned

What do other people reproach you for?

Bad housekeeping, bad finances, not looking hard enough for work, writing songs with notes I can�t always hit, not calling

What does art do for you?

Makes life worth living. But what do I do for art?

Write your epitaph.

And if the earthly no longer knows your name,
whisper to the silent earth: I flow.
To the flashing water say: I am.

--Rilke


thoughts? (5 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact