Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-01-30 - 5:53 p.m.

Lucinda Williams and I have had a nice long relationship, and I'm not gonna break up with her just because her new album is totally boring in every way--musically, lyrically, production-wise. I'm wondering, though, if it might not be time to call in some song doctors, do an all-covers album, start a punk band, do some cognitive therapy for the never-ending depression that seems to fuel her lyrics, write a book of poetry, or start acting in films.

The only positive thing I can say--so far, I'm not giving up yet--about this record is that Bill Frisell is on it.


In researching the metal band Freya, I came across this unrelated advertisement for an email mystery novel. Hot diggity. I would pay $4.99 for this, maybe.


Today, I give a Viking funeral to an old friend, my beloved silver iPod Mini, and welcome a new friend, the impossibly wee iPod Shuffle. The new shuffle is perhaps the cutest dab of technology I've ever seen.

I am now taking bets on how soon I will a) misplace it, b) accidently eat it.

thoughts? (11 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact