Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-02-06 - 8:06 a.m.

Here is a beautiful idea for Valentine's Day


Have you seen Extras? Pretty funny.


I have the new Paul Auster novel and the latest Martin Amis book sitting there on my nightstand, silently competing with each other. Which honky will I read first? I will let them fight it out.


The two albums I've been listening to the most recently--aside from Kristin Hersh--are two oldies.

I liked Joyride by Lida Husik when it came out in the 90s, and miraculously held on to it through several apartment moves (I tend to purge CDs frequently), and now I'm rediscovering its atmospheric beauty and lovely melodic twists and turns. I think Lida could have released this today and it would be much better received--the public seems more open to electronica-leaning pop music now.

And the other music I'm loving is Boom Bip's 2005 release, the most breathtaking track of which is available at his MySpace page: "The Matter," with vocals by Nina Nastasia.

Same deal--I liked it when I first heard it, but for some reason have only lately been really listening.

thoughts? (18 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact