Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-02-26 - 1:29 p.m.

After having been traumatized by the Grammys, I didn't have the stomach for the Oscars, so I turned on the TV, half-heartedly fiddled with the antenna, and turned off the sound as I did some work at the computer.

Every once in a while, I'd turn around and see something interesting (Will Smith's little son, who approaches a Knut-level cuteness; Al Gore accepting an award) and turn the sound up, or I'd see something hideous (they just will never give up on the interpretive dance thing, will they? WILL THEY?) and be relieved that I don't care.

Nevertheless, I can't watch even 5 minutes of the Oscars without finding something to blubber about, and this time, for some reason, it was Forrest Whitaker's acceptance speech. I dunno, he just looked so grateful and surprised, he mentioned "that light that I believe exists in all of us," and he made his cute Last King of Scotland co-star cry, and that set me off a-weepin'. I just enjoy seeing people rewarded for good work, even when they are actors.


Yay, new Kaiser Chiefs album! It's like early 2005 all over again.

thoughts? (7 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact