Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-06-18 - 10:25 a.m.

Another post-gig thought: a friend observed a while back that when someone tells you "I'm gonna try and make your gig," it is a 100% rock-solid guarantee that that person will not show up.

I really don't care about show attendance, and I appreciate the implied kindness of telling someone that, but in a more general sense I am just amused by the appearance of the word "try" and how it magically negates the other words in whatever sentence it appears in.

"I'm trying to lose weight."

"I'm trying to stop smoking."

"I'm trying to stop using the word 'try'."


I was googling an acquaintance the other day (in broad daylight!) and came across this weird site where students rate their professors. It distracted me for a good 15 minutes as I looked up all my old college teachers. I especially like the "hottness" factor.

thoughts? (10 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact