Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-07-05 - 10:10 p.m.

New Yorkers: have you walked past Father Demo Square lately? (And non-NYers, yes, it's named after the patron saint of unsigned bands).

It's all sparkly and new, with nice benches and a newly-paved surface and a little stone monument! It'd been all fenced up for so long I'd forgotten it existed.


I think it would be a nice change of pace if Bono changed his name to "Bongo." Wouldn't you?


Lionel Shriver's new book has the best opening quote* I ever read. It might lose something in the reporting, but this is it:

"Nobody's perfect."

--Known fact

* What's the word for that? Not "inscription"...


I have finally gotten a chance to really sit down and listen to Richard Thompson's latest album and I like it a lot.

The first two songs ("Needle and Thread" and "I'll Never Give Up") just leap right out at you, instantly memorable. The other twelve are no slouches either...Top ten of the year contender! Oh!

(I do wish he'd given the tense, snaky "Guns Are The Tongues" to Sinead O'Connor to sing. It's her kinda song.)


Today in my Monster.com job alerts I got one for "Regional Data Entry Team Member - Cheese." Needless to say I am intrigued.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact