Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-09-01 - 10:36 a.m.

Remember when the meat-packing district was gross just by virtue of its function? And then the added layer of gritty subversive lifestyle, on top of the carcasses in the gutter, made it kind of exciting, too?

I had occasion to hang out there briefly last night and it seems that in the 7 or 8 years since I last checked in, the place has been transformed into a playground for the very tan and glossy. It was unsettling, in a whole new way!

I've talked before about how being in any homogeneous crowd, no matter what kind, gives me existential anxiety, but in this case it was heightened by the eerie sense of alien invasion, or walking through a portal into an entirely unfamiliar world, but right here in my li'l town.

It was really a relief to get back to Hank's afterwards.


And, for Mom:


thoughts? (7 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact