Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-11-21 - 11:36 a.m.

Did you know that we are currently experiencing a world wide helium shortage? I found out yesterday, when a friend reported that he was only allowed to buy 12 balloons for his mother's birthday shindig--the party store wouldn't sell him any more, under any circumstances, and cited this shortage as the reason. In researching this, I notice articles as far back as August 2000, so I guess this isn't news anymore to those helium-huffers in the know.


I happened upon an old song by '70s singer/songwriter Sarah Kernochan yesterday (thank you WFMU playlist archives!) and was struck by her voice and lyrics and generally gutsy writing. It's not my usual cup of tea, the Laura Nyro piano-rock thang, but her biography--she's a filmmaker, musician, now a Huffington blogger--is interesting. I'd never heard of her before.


I am going to see I'm Not There this afternoon and am psyched. I've decided I like it already. I'll let you know if seeing the movie changes my opinion.

thoughts? (9 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact