Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-03-14 - 12:16 a.m.

Have you ever thought to yourself: "I'd love to try yoga, but I'm just too Jewish?"

Then this is the book for you!

But seriously, this is a really sweet book, with its heart in the right place. "Yoga is a craft for vessel-making," it says, and I agree.


Another movie demonstrating the Eddie & the Cruisers Principle--that a film doesn't have to be realistic, or possess any artistic merit to be emotionally resonant and "good"--is the 1991 comedy What About Bob?, starring the perennially unlikeable Richard Dreyfuss and a pre-comeback Bill Murray playing, respectively, the uptight Superego...

relaxed

,,,and the lovable, innocent Id...

oops

...locked in mortal combat.

The more I see this film (I think this was my fourth viewing since its original release), the more I think it is a classic. Even Richard Dreyfuss's deck shoes and white socks take on a comedic, pompous-ass quality as he storms around in a narcissistic rage, trying to control the shenanigans of Bill Murray's "Bob."

But, like the wily mouse in that other Id vs. Superego classic, Bob keeps rising to the top.


In case you can't get to SxSW this year, this will get you up-to-speed on all the new exciting indie bands.

thoughts? (12 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact