Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-06-25 - 7:58 a.m.

While I was running along the bay after work yesterday, in the dazzling summer sun, a bunch of low-flying NYPD helicopters circled overhead and some police boats showed up too. Man overboard? It was all pretty dramatic but no one could figure out what was going on.

When I got home, I looked online at my usual sources but turned up nothing.

However, I did find this noirish Bay Ridge news item from 1899. (You can download the PDF for free, with the original typeface, etc.)

"Elaborate Tattooing on the Arm Leads to the Belief that the Victim Was a Sailor."


This is one of the weirdest wedding write-ups I've read in a while. It's slightly disturbing, and it's got Doobie Brothers in it, and it sounds like someone made this story up as they went along. (A houseboat with a grand piano?)


It must be nice to be in a genre of one's own, like Sv�ng, the Finnish harmonica quartet.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact