Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-07-17 - 10:59 a.m.

I fear I may have blogged about this already, but I recently heard a Suzanne Vega song that stuck in my head, so she's on my mind this morning.

Vega is one of those people who has written about five songs that I like, but I am so bowled over by those five songs that I completely forgive her for all the other missteps--the dull albums, the over-production, the many times she strays into preciousness, the NPR-ness of her vibe.

Plus, she really is a unique creation...I appreciate that when she first came on the scene she was this androgynous frail/tough/smart persona in the big hair/video bimbo era, and in interviews she always comes across as thoughtful and well-spoken.

This video below is atrocious, but I consider the song itself to be one the classic songs of our day--brilliant lyrics, infectious and interesting melody and chord changes, and sung in a beautiful, plain, plaintive voice.

When I heard it, I wondered if there are younger people who, afraid of folk music, may not know this song, or if it is part of the American pop canon?

thoughts? (10 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact