Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-10-15 - 12:17 a.m.

I haven't had time to post much lately, and then when it's been a while I get overwhelmed with all the things I want to write about. So then I just make lists:

  • Friday, I just barely saw Banksy's new installation, but it was too crowded to experience in a leisurely way. I will go back and get photos.

  • Then saw Nights and Weekends, followed by a Q&A with its director on Friday. Liked the guerrilla-style lo-fi-ness, hated the banality of the characters and dialogue.

  • In stark contrast, watched the film Time Out (2001) and was mesmerized by the banality of the characters and dialogue, which serves the story and leads up to one of the most subtly heartbreaking film endings I've seen in a while (subspecies: "French suburban malaise.") Also one of the few movies that makes France seem unappealing.

  • Went to a fabulous wedding in Reading, PA!

    SDC11009

  • Was heartened to see just as many Obama/Biden signs on people's front lawns in PA as McCain/Palin signs.

  • Put in a day of meditation at the tail-end of the Year Long Meditation project at Himalayan Institute. Good stuff. The Institute is on the grounds of a former Catholic seminary, and it feels like what I imagine an old-timey sanitorium must have felt like: just a big, leafy box of quiet. It was great.

  • And now I am back. A few miles outside of NYC I realized: It's autumn!

    SDC11143

    SDC11144

    SDC11142

    SDC11146


    Tree

    thoughts? (3 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact