Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-10-20 - 11:46 a.m.

For all your online pizza needs, there is Pizza Today.


As fall unfolds all around us, the wedding season, for the most part, ends.

I've been to a few this summer, and many in my lifetime, and I've noticed two reliable wedding-reception phenomena.

The first is that there's always one song, and one song only, that gets everybody out on the dance floor--young, old, drunk, sober, couples, singles.

The song varies from event to event, and its momentary popularity seems to be only tangentially related to the song choice itself, judging by the impossibly motley assemblage of folks who respond to it.

(Does your grandmother really like "Don't Stop Til You Get Enough"? I didn't think so.)

It seems more the result of some mysterious convergence of circadian rhythms, post-dinner digestion, light tipsiness, and mob psychology than actual affection or knowledge of the song.

At the wedding I attended last weekend, the magic happened when the DJ played this 'un.

The other phenomenon is that at some point, like a little swarm of bees, a small group of older middle-aged women in beaded Dress Barn finery will form a circle and dance with each other, no matter what music is playing. Shoes will be doffed, inhibitions will remain mostly in place, but they will look like they are having a good time.

If I'm in a sulky mood, I'll watch them and think, "Their husbands don't want to dance with them anymore."

If I'm in a good mood, I'll think, in an incoherent fashion, "Behold--music is the embodied God that keeps our society together."

But either way, if I ever get married again, I want one of the vows to be "We will dance with each other at wedding receptions, in perpetuity. No matter how jiggly my upper arms get, and no matter how much you may hate to dance."

thoughts? (14 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact