Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-12-23 - 1:59 p.m.

I am not prepared to offer my "Best Movies of 2008" list until I see a couple more flicks, but here are some more listy items of things that meant a lot to my everyday well-being.

Things I Consumed A Lot of in 2008:

  • Oh my god how I love these Veggie Crisps. I have no illusions that they are healthy, but they aren't greasy at least, thereby necessitating fewer hand-washing jaunts than regular chips.

  • I love wine, but, luckily, have the palate of a teenage shoplifter, so I can get away with drinking Yellow Tail. (It's "approachable" according to the website.) I like how each of the varietals tastes pretty much like the others, but the color of the label is different. "I�ll buy the purple one this time."

    Blogs and Other Web Joints I Loved in 2008

    (Again the disclaimer that I don't rank my friends' sites, but rest assured your blogs give me happiness every day!)

  • Mostly cuz o' work, I read all the usual music blogs (although of the most-trafficked, Idolator is the one I actually enjoy), and a couple of off-menu ones, including Ye Wei Blog, written by an editor of another good site, Perfect Sound Forever

  • For a fun cross-section of dharma wisdom and pop culture, there's The Worst Horse

  • The uniformly excellent Onion A.V. Club is a triple threat: good reliable coverage of music, film, and books.

  • I've already expressed my love for Ephemeral New York, but it bears repeating. I love a well-researched, photo-heavy blog, and I love local history.

  • I rarely read the print version anymore, but the National Geographic website is a near-daily read.

  • She won me over with an honest and vulnerable article in Yoga Journal about her fear of hand-stands, and I�ve since enjoyed the blog of Dayna Macy

  • Ostensibly a blog for men, Male Pattern Fitness is well-written, motivating, and its author has a pleasingly utilitarian and no-gimmmick approach to fitness that I like. He also finds the NY Times health section as annoying as I do.

  • I try (and succeed, like 80% of the time, I think) to maintain a positive outlook no matter what is going on in the world. I appreciate that the writers and editors of Ode Magazine are coming from the same place.

  • At the height of my B-Star-G obsession, I checked in frequently with Galactica Sitrep, and intend to come back as soon as the DVDs for Season 4 are available!

    Books!

    I didn't read a heck of a lot of 2008 books, but Marshall Klimasewiski's short story collection really impressed me, and Graham Rawle's Woman's World was cool in the category of "best ransom-note novel."

    thoughts? (4 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact