Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2009-04-16 - 9:35 a.m.

Reading a recent obituary of the late intellectual freedom crusader Judith Krug, I was made aware of this cute children's book about two male penguins at the Central Park Zoo who "adopt" a baby.

It's a book that apparently loves to get banned in public libraries, but I am happy to report that the Bklyn PL has 18 copies (and some in Spanish, too) and the NYPL has 50 copies. I wish I'd known about it when I was kid-books shopping just this weekend for two of my nephews.


No story here, just that I have been listening to a lot of Red Snapper [MySpace] this week.


I think "Dracula Ann" would be a pretty name for a girl.

Which reminds that I finished season 4 of Buffy this week, and when I get some time I'd like to yak about it.


And despite all my lowered expectations, I thought Cadillac Records was a crappy cliche-fest, although Eamonn Walker as Howlin' Wolf was amazing--this guy stole the movie. Was he nominated for anything? Cuz this is the definition of a great supporting role.

thoughts? (3 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact