Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-02-09 - 11:12 a.m.

Nice weekend...spent Saturday afternoon at the Brooklyn Museum, gawking at the excellent Egyptian collection. The crocodile mummy and cat mummy never fail to amaze.


Finished watching Season Two of 24. I think Season Two was a respectable continuation of the themes and techniques of Season One, and arguably better in many ways.

For one thing, the story seemed less improvised, better plotted, and it introduced some nuances that were absent from Season One...and here I go with the spoiler spaces...

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

Spoiler

I liked how the themes of Season One were expanded on and explored here to great effect: Protocol vs. doing-the-right-thing�trust & loyalty�responsibility & accountability�how many times did someone blame someone else for his/her own messes, or fail to see the consequences of an isolated action? �I just did what they asked me to do, I didn�t realize it would result in THIS�� An important theme for our times.

I enjoyed how the plot built up novelistically, and allowed some room for characterization. The Warner family, in particular, were painted in nice feathery strokes, and the truths that were revealed didn�t seem like the gimmicky surprises that the writers have reserved for Sherry Palmer�s character.

I loved the tiny sparks between Kate Warner and Kiefer. I kept wishing he�d say, �I know I�ve just been tortured, beaten, shot at, and clinically dead for over a minute, but, w-w-would you like to go to the movies with me?�

I loved the George Mason plotline! Yes, it was a little too convenient to have the Dying Man show up to crash the bomb-plane, but I don�t care, I loved that we got to watch George confront his mortality with a sense of grief but not sentimentality.

Nina Myers: best villain on TV! Even while being completely vile and demanding, has a touch of vulnerability that reminds us that she�s still human. And it�s good to have an evil character whose humanity reminds us: we are all capable of being evil.

I hated the pointless Kim subplot�-but I was grateful that someone had the restraint to pull the plug on that one relatively early. I also appreciated that, at the end of the �day," she actually looked and acted like she�d been through hell.

I enjoyed everything about the David Palmer plotline, including Mike�s betrayal and dismissal. I am pleased that he wasn�t portrayed as completely bad, and that his betrayal was rather late in the game.

And now, I look forward to Season 3! I may have to actually have to start watching TV.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact