Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-04-03 - 12:21 p.m.

I tried to make it last as long as I could, but I have come to the end of the first season of Flight of the Conchords, and I am sad and rudderless. Apparently, it will be a long while before season two shows up, and even longer to wait for the DVD. Everything else seems harsh and unfunny in comparison.

Interestingly, I watched the show right after coming off an extended Arrested Development jag (I re-watched season 2 and 3 for the third time), and the two shows compare favorably even though they reside at far (but not opposite) places on the comedy spectrum. While AD is multilayered and almost fractal in its references, motifs, and injokes, FotC is uncluttered, easy to digest, and mostly pretty sweet. It�s all about subtle facial gestures, gentle repetition, and whimsy--as someone said on a Netflix comment, it�s like there�s two straightmen.

My love for the Conchords even spurred me to rent Eagle vs. Shark, which, despite Jemaine Clement�s great performance, is a rather sucky movie.

Anyway, as I weep into my beer, I leave you with my very favorite FotC moment...

thoughts? (8 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact