Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-19 - 10:23 a.m.

Red velvet cake. Is there anything dreamier?


I have passed a milestone. I have entered the Now. I have downloaded my first entire album from iTunes.

I resisted for the longest time, because I have a fetish for albums, for cover art, for the smell of lyric booklets. I like being able to see and feel the thang while a-listenin'.

But lately, I've been finding it liberating and economical to download, say, the one good song from the new Magnetic Fields album (I'm not a fan), or some song from my youth that wouldn't warrant buying a whole CD.

The singles proved to be the gateway for the harder stuff.

The honor of first album purchased from iTunes goes to A Boot and a Shoe, which is very good. I need to hear it a few more times before I can make any definitive statement, but I suspect I'm going to end up loving it. It's certainly as tuneful and direct as Fan Dance.


The fly-fishing discussion in yesterday's comments section inspired me to look at some fly-tying sites. I'd forgotten how great the names of all the various flies are...so many excellent band names just waiting to be chosen.


You've probably read this already, but if not: Jon Stewart addresses graduates of William & Mary.


Forget breast implants, I want brain implants!

thoughts? (8 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact